Chinese Zodiac: All About This System of Astrology

Dating back thousands of years, the Chinese zodiac is powerful in Chinese culture. This ancient system of astrology divides all years into 12 cycles, each with its unique characteristics and the potential to bring about great fortune for those born within it. This article will explore these questions and more, providing an overview of all things related to the Chinese zodiac.

The 12 Animals of the Chinese Zodiac

The Chinese zodiac contains 12 animals that represent different years. The Rat, ox, tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig are part of the Chinese zodiac. Each year is represented by an animal, and those born in that year are said to have similar characteristics to that animal.

Those born in the Year of the Rat usually are quick-witted and resourceful. People born in the Year of the Ox are hardworking and reliable. Conversely, people born in the Year of the Tiger are brave and confident. Those born in the Year of the Rabbit often are gentle and kind.

Children born in the Year of the Dragon are charismatic and confident. Those born in the Year of the Snake usually are intelligent and wise. Those born in the Year of the Horse are said to be energetic and enthusiastic. People born in the Year of Goat are usually calm and gentle.

Those born in Monkey Years usually are mischievous but also intelligent. Roosters tend to be loyal friends but can also be vain at times! People born in Dog Years tend to be honest and just but can sometimes be too trusting for their good! Last but not least, people born under Pig Years tend to enjoy life’s simple pleasures!

chinese zodiac

What Year Is Your Chinese Zodiac Sign?

This zodiac system is a cycle of twelve animals that repeats every twelve years. The animals in the Chinese zodiac represent different personality traits. Each year represents another animal, and each has its characteristics. If you were born in a particular year, then that year’s animal represents your personality.

To find out what year your Chinese zodiac sign is, you’ll need to know the year you were born in. Once you know that, consult the chart below to find out which animal is your sign.


The Chinese Zodiac Compatibility chart is based on the principle of the Five Elements: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. Each element is represented by an animal: Wood is represented by the Rat, Fire is represented by the Ox or Cow, Earth is represented by the Tiger, Metal is represented by the Rabbit, and Water is represented by the Dragon.

Based on this principle, each zodiac sign has compatible and incompatible signs. For example, the Rat is compatible with the Dragon and the Monkey but incompatible with the Horse. The Ox or Cow is consistent with the Snake and the Rooster but inconsistent with the Sheep.

To find out your Chinese Zodiac Compatibility, look up your zodiac sign below to see which characters are compatible and which are not. Remember that this is just a general guide and that many other factors come into play when determining compatibility.


There are twelve signs in this type of astrology system, each associated with a different set of personality traits. For example, if you were born under the sign of the Rat, you might be considered ambitious, resourceful, and intelligent. People born under the character of the Ox might be seen as hardworking, patient, and reliable.

If you’re unsure which sign you were born under, you can use our Chinese Zodiac calculator. Once you know your character, look at the list of traits below to see if they ring true for you!

The Chinese Zodiac and the Five Elements

The Chinese zodiac is a system that assigns an animal to each year in a twelve-year cycle. The five elements are also set to specific years, with each piece represented by two animals. The features and animals combine to form a sixty-year process, which should determine someone’s birth year animal.

This system of astrology is believed to have been developed during the Han Dynasty, though it did not gain widespread popularity until much later. Today it is still used to assign personality traits to people born in specific years. The five elements represent different aspects of nature,  with certain positive and negative qualities.

1. Wood: Creativity, flexibility, compassion;

2. Fire: Passion, ambition, energy;

3. Earth: Stability, reliability, practicality;

4. Metal: Determination, strength, discipline;

5. Water: Wisdom, intuition, emotion.


The Chinese zodiac system is an exciting way to learn about the interrelated energies of the 12 animals and their associated years, months, days, and even hours. Whether you believe in it or not, finding out which animal you are can be a fun activity for everyone, especially when shared with family and friends who also share your sign! Thank you for reading, and feel free to continue doing it in the future!

Leave a Comment